top of page

Do you have to have your makeup done professionally?


Wedding budgets can be tight and sometimes makeup may seem like an unnecessary extra cost but you still want to look amazing on your special day so what do you do? Is it possible to do your own makeup?

Here at Forever&Always we spoke to a couple of real brides and makeup artists on whether they think brides should do their own makeup.

Bride-to-be Casey Cays has decided to do her own makeup. Casey, 31, said: "For my makeup I'm doing a brown Smokey eye, pink nude lip, and pink highlight for contouring my cheeks. I've chosen to do my own makeup but if something happens and I can't my cousin or best friend will do it."

Zoe Thomas, 28, make up artist and founder of ZT Make up artistry said: "It's important that a bride has a relaxed moment to herself on the morning of her wedding day and sitting having your make up done by a professional certainly helps calm any nerves and means the bride can enjoy being pampered and stress free. It's also important that the makeup used is of high quality and will work with professional photography and ensure it lasts the whole day."

Newly-wed Vanessa Faye, 24, said: "Yes I had my make up done professionally, It was definitely a weight lifted off my shoulders and lovely to be pampered on my big day. I couldn’t think of anything worse than stressing over my face the morning of my wedding because I couldn’t get my foundation right. I had a trial with my makeup lady a month or so before the wedding which was very useful to create the look I wanted."

Natalie Harrison-Wright is a makeup artist with 10 years experience. Natalie, 29, said: "I only think it's important if she feels she wouldn't be happy doing it herself . Of course as a professional I can provide a flawless lasting look that she may not be able to recreate herself but some brides are not bothered about that . I would say however your wedding photos are lasting memories of the happiest day and most ladies want to look there best on that day and in print."

Okay, so there may be some benefits of having your makeup done by someone else if it reduces stress. But, why does it need to take so much of the budget? Have you seen the difference between bridesmaid makeup and bridal makeup for example. We explored why this is.

Bride-to-be Sam Leigh Evans, 22, said: "I’m not a makeup artist but for example, you’re going to need better quality or more product if you’re going to be wearing it for possibly 10 + hours. Bridesmaids generally cost less because whilst they’re in the photos, they’re not going to be constantly touched, so you’re going to need better coverage as a bride."

Make-up artist Zoe said: "As more consideration, product, and certain techniques are used meaning more time spent with the bride. Also choice of more luxurious lashes individuals can be applied [which is] again more time consuming."

Make up artist Natalie said: "More time spent , more detail , more work in terms of ensuring it stays , more product in some cases . Also we have to factor in cost of product and overheads."

Okay so we understand now why makeup costs so much and the benefits of not having to do it yourself but are there any other ways around it taking up so much of the budget. Newlywed Indre Kennedy has found the perfect solution - using professionally trained friends.

Indre Kennedy, 23, said: "I got my make up done by my sister in law and my hair too. She is a professionally trained hairdresser even though she's not in the profession anymore. I done this to save money and also knew I could trust her to do a good job as well as being able to practise the look freely as many times as we wanted before the wedding."

No stress of having to do your own makeup, mates rates and the trust of actually knowing the person. The perfect solution! If you don't know anyone professionally trained in the field ask around. Ask friends, family members and work colleagues if they know anyone and join a wedding advice page on Facebook and ask on there. Problem solved.

Are you doing your own makeup or do you think brides should go professional. Let us know your opinions by tweeting us here.


bottom of page