top of page

Something borrowed part 6

Bridesmaids

I had the most amazing job this week. I got to ask my friends and family to be my bridesmaids.

I have chosen four bridesmaids and a flower girl. The flower girl will be my daughter who will be around 21 months when we get married and she will be in white. My bridesmaids are two of my closest friends, my sister and my partners niece.

I told my sister and my friends via Facebook....I know not very exciting but I don't have money to waste on big announcements and I had already mentioned in passing that they would be my bridesmaids so they kind of knew it was coming. Plus now we have a messenger group to discuss all things wedding and hen do - of course!

The best announcement was to our niece. She lives in America and is 11 years old. We have been holding off asking her till we knew for certain she would be able to come to the wedding. Once we got word we FaceTimed her and asked her. It was a resounding yes. I am yet to meet my soon-to-be niece and nephew so I am over the moon that they will be able to come to our wedding and that out niece will be able to take part.

I have been discussing with the girls the types of dresses that they like. Our chosen colour is navy blue but other than that we are pretty relaxed. We want all of the bridesmaids to feel relaxed in what they are wearing and as such think they should be able to choose what dresses they wear. I have said they can choose the length and style of the dress but I would like to get them all from the same shop as I want them the same colour. For our niece I will send her pictures of a couple of dresses and allow her to choose as she will not be arriving from America till two days before the wedding.

I will be paying for all of the bridesmaids dresses. I do not think that it is fair that my bridesmaid should have to pay for dresses that they will likely never wear again. Then after the wedding if they don't want the dresses I intend to sell them. I will however be asking my bridesmaids to contribute in other ways. The accessories such as shoes bag and anything they want in their hair they can pay for as all of it is re-useable. My hair stylist for the day has said she will do their hair for £30 per person so I will say to them if they are willing to pay for their own they can have their hair done if not they can style it themselves.


bottom of page