top of page

Something borrowed part 4

The cake

So we met with the cake lady and she was lovely as ever. She had the most amazing work space for making her cakes. I must say I was rather jealous as I enjoy cake decorating as a hobby and would love a space like that.

Anyway, when we arrived we had lots of cake samples and tea/coffee in dainty Chinaware. It was lovely but a bit overwhelming. Who knew how much thought had to go into a cake. Well we certainly didn't and as a result we were told we were the easiest customers yet as we just went with our gut.

We chose four tiers as it's aesthetically pleasing (and my other half is hoping to get an entire cake to himself). We have chose to go for two vanilla, one lemon and one chocolate cake and decided on a simple design with lace trim and wooden names on top. We were able to see what our final cake would look like using dummy cakes she had in her shop. I've included a photo. (The names are just for show too....I'm not changing my name to Johnathan)

Also this week we have contacted a photographer and arranged to see her. We met her at one of the first wedding fairs we went to but we were not yet ready to book anywhere so we left it. Then I could her leaflet in the now mountain on bridal leaflets I have along with her price list. Let's hope all goes well in the meeting and then that's another huge thing ticked off the list.


bottom of page