top of page

Everything you need to know about alternative bouquets

Flowers have always and will always be a big part of the wedding but do you have to have fresh ones? What are the benefits of having artificial ones? What types of artificial flowers can you get?

Forever&Always have done all the research for you to discover all the artificial/alternative bouquet advice and information.

Owner of Barlow bespoke flowers, Kate Barlow, 34, spoke to us about the benefits of artificial bouquets. She said: "We get a lot of people with allergies so people can't actually have fresh [and] people can keep the bouquets forever. I've still got mine from my wedding. I just think because they last forever and they don't wilt on the day. I think artificial bouquets are the best thing going forward."

Kate's bouquets are handmade. She said: "I do follow the same ruling as with fresh flowers. I don't use all the foam but prefer to go for the natural look."

Kate Barlow warned us that not all florists work to her high standards so try to see examples of their work.

Check out some of the Barlow bespoke flowers collection below. To book her simply visit her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/barlowbespokeflowers/

One real bride who has had artificial flowers made was Vanessa Faye, 24. She said: "All my flowers were artificial. The quote for real flowers was more than double what I paid for faux flowers. I was so pleased with my flowers in the end and we can keep them. The fact that they were ready a month before the wedding was something that made me feel more in control".

Vanessa's beautiful flowers on her big day:

Crystal bouquets boutique owner Aria Sands, 43, has been running her quirky and unique business for seven years. She said the benefits of having artificial bouquets are 'endless'. "Artificial flowers are always in season. You get to keep the bouquet after the wedding. They travel perfectly for destination weddings. You can add some serious sparkle if you love a bit of bling. You can have any theme you want. The sky is the limit."

Aria's bouquets are also entirely handmade and finished with lace or fabric. She used to own a vintage jewellery shop where they held afternoon teas for bridal parties. She said: "I made a bouquet out of some of the vintage pieces. A visiting photographer wrote an article about it. The bouquet sold and before I knew it I couldn't keep up with orders so I gave up the shop to concentrate on the bouquets.

Aria suggests booking 6 months in advance. You can book online at www.crystalbouquetsboutique.com on the phone 07775520906 or via Facebook. Check out her unique designs below (our favourite is definitely the candy bouquet).

Artificial bouquets are not for everyone. Newly wed Indre Kennedy, 23, said: "My bouquet was real. I just prefer real flowers and the price difference wasn't that great. You also get to enjoy the real flowers for a week or so after the wedding and give some away to your guests. It means no need to store the artificial flowers in the house!"

Are artificial flowers the way forward for you? Are you having something super creative like Aria's lego bouquet or are you keeping it classic with real flowers? Let us know by tweeting us here.

bottom of page