top of page

The only opportunity for my mum to be part of my big day

After being with her partner for ten years Bride-to-be Maxine Jade is finally tying the knot so that her mum could be part of her special day.

Maxine Jade, 40, talks to us about the stress of having to plan a wedding last minute and how important it is for her mum to share her day with her following her diagnosis of terminal cancer.

Above: Maxine Jade and husband-to-be Junior

Maxine's mum was diagnosed with terminal cancer in Dec 2017. Maxine said: "She was having palliative chemotherapy treatment but it was very tough on her and made her very poorly."

Maxine and husband to be have been together ten years and have four children together but due to cost they have never had the chance to get married as Maxine had dreamed of a big day with all her friends.

Maxine's mum recently made the decision to stop her cancer treatment. "She recently stayed in a local hospice and made the decision to stop the treatment. Since the we have decided this is our only opportunity to try and have a day of celebration with my mum part of it. We were considering July for a few extra weeks but the McMillan nurse has said it would be better sooner."

With such a last minute plans it will not be possible for Maxine to have the big wedding surrounded by friends she had always dreamed of.

She said: "We had already given notice at the registry office early in January as I was very scared that my mum's time was short. So we have managed to get the registry office for the ceremony. We have a local hotel that has been used for parties by many friends, but luckily for us we have managed to book this for all the after celebrations. My hair is being done by a friend who is a hairdresser, my nails, makeup also a friend. Due to the circumstances and the amazing friends we have everyone is pulling together to get this done. I just hope I find a dress! When the decision was made both my other half and I were very disappointed that we will not have our friends to celebrate the ceremony, due to time constraints and not too much for my mum."

Despite the disappointment that her friends will not be able to be around Maxine on her big day she is now happy with the decision. She said: "Now I’m organising things I see it may not be what we dreamed of but when it’s happening it will be all we ever needed."

Maxine is just thankful for the opportunity to marry the person she loves with her mum being part of her day. She said: "I feel that I would not bother to be married if my mum was not there and especially if we could not have been married with her present. I want my mum to know I’m safe and I’m going to be okay as she faces the reality of the devastating consequences of cancer. But I hope this fills her days with a warm feeling of good times ahead in an achievable distance. I’m just trying to love and honour her as best I can."

Below: Maxine Jade and her mum

bottom of page