top of page

Alternative bridal wear

You know the scene. Gushing bride in her floor length white gown - a fairytale right? But does it have to be a white dress?

Here at Forever&Always we spoke to three brides who have decided to ditch the tradish. They've said no to white and gone for alternative bridal wear. Check it out below:

Stephanie Davies, 27, said: "the design is very similar to these. (pictured above) Black top and lots of grey and black tulle at the skirt of the dress. I didn't want white or ivory, I've never been an overly traditional person and I feel your wedding dress should excite you whereas the traditional ones just did not do it for me. I think there's so much pressure to have a perfect wedding and the perfect dress that I wanted to take that off myself by having the perfect dress for me and not what everyone else would be expecting for you to wear."

Suzanne Masey, 27, tied the knot last week (April 20). She said: "I chose the floral one because I wanted different. I'd tried n a few blush dresses but from the minute I saw that one I knew it was the one. Also, I'm a bit alternative myself and didn't want to do the whole goth thing." Suzanne's dress from Cherished wedding bridal boutique in Mansfield is pictured above.

Katie Streeter, 29, has decided to go for a floral blue dress (pictured above) to suit her midsummer night's dream wedding. She said: "I guess I just want something a little more special and unique. I don't want a run of the mill wedding. I find white a boring colour. Blue is definitely more me. I think I had a moment where I did consider [a white dress] I suppose just to have the wedding dress shop experience. Most bridal shops just sell or make white/off white dresses and I don't fancy spending an arm and a leg for a designer to make my dress from scratch." Katie found her dream dress on the marketplace app Etsy posted by a chinese designer called GuCiDesigns.

Are you having an alternative wedding dress that you would love to tell us about? Tweet us here.

bottom of page