top of page

Disaster wedding dress

Bride-to-be, Ema Anderson, tells Forever and Always of her disaster wedding dress experience.

Ema is originally from Liverpool but moved to Sydney 8 years ago where she met her "best friend" and fiancé. They now have a three-year-old son together and plan to return to Liverpool to be married this December.

Ema's parents visited her in her sunny home in Australia to go dress shopping. After 7 dresses she found the perfect one.

The dress Ema originally tried on was perfect

(Above: Ema found her perfect dress after trying on just 7)

(Above: Unfortunately the dress was a size 10 and she had to wait for alterations)

Ema said: "The shop seemed really good and helpful it took me a few months and I finally paid it all off."

Happy with her choice and looking forward to her wedding Ema felt she had made a good decision until June when things started to go wrong.

"I rang the shop several times after June when they said it would arrive, I finally rang 2 weeks ago - early September - and Rosa, the lady, told me she had been ringing me for weeks and that my dress has arrived. I told her I had no missed calls or messages. I went for my first fitting and the dress was badly creased it was awful and felt strange."

Looking at the pictures in comparison Ema could see the dresses were completely different.

"I went back 2 days later to confront her. I wanted to know if the dress was different after about 40 minutes she finally told me they had changed the material. It is a light organza and softer but as to me it looks cheap and nasty and a China dress. I saw her go into the back room and shake her head then punch a wall or something loud. She then came out and said I'm sorry I haven't slept for a few weeks girls keep telling their dressers are different."

(Above: the dress Ema was given was a different material and not the dress she had ordered at all)

Ema had worked hard and paid for this dress in several monthly payments so she said she wanted the dress she originally tried on and not this one she had been given. However, the sample dress was a size 10 and Ema is a size 14 but she still loves the dress from the front.

Ema told the boss she wanted a full refund with just 11 weeks left until the wedding it was a nail biting time.

Fortunately, the shop contacted her and on the September 30 she was given a brand new dress that fitted which she did not have to pay any extra for and the shop even gave her a free veil for her troubles.

Looking forward to her December wedding Ema is excited to be back home in Liverpool with her family and friends and glad she no longer has to stress about her dress.

(Above: Ema's new dress just in time for her winter wedding in Liverpool)

Have you got a story like this for us? Tweet us @FandAMagazine

bottom of page